Atila's Student Blog

On Output

School

School beat the fear of speaking out of me. In order to do well in exams I had to speak. This forced me to break out of the feeling of early output being a sin which was a stigma I held. Don't get me wrong, my speaking sucks but confidence does really change alot.

Personal Story

I just went up to some German girls in France in a Burger King which is something I'd never do in England speaking English. And I said kid you not "nochmal bitte" - which approximately means "can you repeat that" and they just started laughing but it wasn't in a mocking way I don't think. They asked me whether that's what I was taught in school and I answered yes. While it was a short conversation it was very helpful when it came to my confidence, these weren't a teacher nor a family friend they were just random people who I've just met.
It still baffles me to this day that I managed to do that. As I was also sub 100 hours back then in terms of tracked input, however they may have been talking a bit slower.

TLDR

Don't let your fear of early output / output in general from stopping you from making memories.