Atila's Student Blog

My Journey With Linux

First steps

At first Linux was just an in the back of my mind OS. As Windows was an absolute killer of laptop resources. At 4gb of RAM my laptop was struggling. I had heard about this linux thing that it can run on even a toaster and I was intrigued.
I asked my father to help me install linux and he asked me why to which I had no compelling answer. My plea was denied.
So I set off on my own with my 8gb usb and balena etcher onto my first OS.

The teacher

I didn't have many problems with installing linux because I watched Mental Outlaw his videos are very entertaining and quite useful when it comes to the topic of (to be quite broad) internet privacy and security.

Ubuntu

I started off with Ubuntu and honestly ,even though I might be wrong, it is my favourite OS so far.


I'm still to this day using things I only started using because I used Ubuntu today. Such as calibre and the libre office suite. I've come to realize that ricing my setup isn't the path I wish to take.

Arch

I don't use Arch btw. I used an arch based distribution Archcraft.
It looked very nice, it was lightweight and I had patience to work through any problems I was facing however the second time, that I installed it, it was such a bother to re-install all my apps that I quickly gave up. I'm simply not cut out for arch's "you are the master of your OS" (as I like to put it) mindset. And so I went back to windows.
Some screenshots: (screenshot)
(screenshot)

Windows

I really do not like windows 11 and yet I use it on a daily basis.

Why?

Why do I not like Windows 11?

Plans moving forward

Migrate from Windows 11 back to Ubuntu because ubuntu 22.04.3 LTS looks pretty good at the moment.

Update

I've moved onto ubuntu again. I'm very much enjoying it. Subscribe to my Blog via RSS feed