Atila's Student Blog

How to turn starting Lute into a desktop application - on ubuntu

As I found having to run a .sh file every time I wanted to start up lute tedious.
I decided to create a desktop application to run it for me.

Prerequisites

Have a start.sh file for Lute

How to get a application for lute

Step 1. Create a .desktop file such as "lutestart.desktop" using this command "touch ~/.local/share/applications/lutestart.desktop"
Step 2. Open the file in the text editor perhaps with "gedit ~/.local/share/applications/lutestart.desktop"

Step 3. Add this into the .desktop file [Desktop Entry]
Name=LuteStart
Exec=/your/path/to/start.sh
Icon=/your/path/to/icon.png
Comment=Launch Lute
Terminal=true
Type=Application

How to get icon.png file

I just took a screenshot of lute's icon.

The finished product


In order to pin this to the dock I just right clicked it and clicked "Add To Favourites"

I closely followed this guide
Subscribe to my Blog via RSS